Skip to content



Disaster News

Loans for Businesses, Private Nonprofits, Homeowners and Renters

Disaster Field Operations Center-West, P.O. Box 419004, Sacramento, CA 95841

Release Date:  May 31, 2017

Media Contact:  Richard Jenkins

Release Number:  AR 15148-01

Phone:  (916) 735-1500

SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans Available to Arkansas Small Businesses

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – Small nonfarm businesses in 46 Arkansas counties and 12 neighboring Missouri and Tennessee counties are now eligible to apply for low‑interest federal disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration. These loans offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by the excessive rain, flash flooding, flooding, hail, high winds and lightning in the following primary counties that began April 1, 2017, announced Director Tanya N. Garfield of SBA’s Disaster Field Operations Center-West.

      Primary Arkansas counties:  Boone, Carroll, Clay, Conway, Craighead, Faulkner, Greene, Independence, Jackson, Lawrence, Lonoke, Madison, Mississippi, Monroe, Newton, Perry, Poinsett, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, St. Francis, White and Woodruff;

      Neighboring Arkansas counties:  Arkansas, Benton, Cleburne, Crawford, Crittenden, Cross, Franklin, Garland, Grant, Izard, Jefferson, Johnson, Lee, Marion, Phillips, Pope, Saline, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, Washington and Yell;

      Neighboring Missouri counties:  Barry, Butler, Dunklin, Oregon, Pemiscot, Ripley, Stone and Taney
Neighboring Tennessee counties:  Dyer, Lauderdale, Shelby and Tipton. 


“SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster,” Garfield said.


Small nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.


“Eligibility for these loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage. These loans have an interest rate of 3.15 percent for businesses and 2.5 percent for private nonprofit organizations, a maximum term of 30 years and are available to small businesses and most private nonprofits without the financial ability to offset the adverse impact without hardship,” Garfield said.


By law, SBA makes Economic Injury Disaster Loans available when the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster. The Secretary declared this disaster on May 24, 2017.


Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance. Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency about the U.S. Department of Agriculture assistance made available by the Secretary’s declaration.


Applicants may apply online using SBA’s secure website at


Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA’s Customer Service Center by calling (800) 659-2955 or emailing This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.">This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Individuals who are deaf or hard‑of‑hearing may call (800) 877-8339. For more disaster assistance information or to download applications, visit Completed applications should be mailed to U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX  76155.


The deadline to apply for these loans is Jan. 24, 2018.