Skip to content

Flood Information

Faulkner County joined the National Flood Insurance Program(NFIP) in 1991. Some 20,000 communities across the United States and its territories participate NFIP by adopting and enforcing floodplain management ordinances to reduce flood damage.  In exchange, the NFIP makes federally-backed flood insurance available to homeowners, renters, and business owners in these communities.  Community participation in the NFIP is voluntary.

Flood insurance is designed to provide an alternative to disaster assistance to reduce the escalating costs of repairing damage to buildings and their contents caused by floods. Flood damage is reduced by nearly $1 billion each year through communities implementing sound floodplain management requirements and property owners purchasing flood insurance.

As a requirement of participating in the program, Faulkner County OEM/911 is responsible for permitting the development in special flood hazard areas, as outlined in our Flood Damage Prevention Code. Development is defined as any man made change. The purpose of this application is to lessen the impact to residents and their property during a flood event. This will also assist those developing to receive the lowest flood insurance premiums as possible.  

If you plan to develop in a special flood hazard area, please complete the Floodplain Development Application below and return it to our office. 

If you need any assistance with the application, you can contact Shelia Bellott, Certified Floodplain Manager, and she will be happy to assist you through this process.


Floodplain Development Application
Building Diagrams 
Flood Damage Prevention Code
Floodplain Ordinance 11-15

Who Needs Flood Insurance
Flood Preparedness
Flood Facts 
Faulkner County Floodplain Layer Map Info

Other useful links: